the David Gluck memorial bursary

The Discerning Eye first awarded a bursary in 2002 and this became an annual drawing bursary in 2005. The aim is to provide an opportunity for artists to extend their practice by offering financial support and to broaden the organisation's activities beyond the annual exhibition. The bursary is awarded by the DE Educational Advisory Board.


In 2007 the bursary was renamed in memory of David Gluck, who contributed so much to Discerning Eye and its annual exhibition. David was a selector for the main exhibition in 1998 and became a committed member of The DE Educational Advisory Board, who steer the Discerning Eye's charitable educational activities.


The bursary is open to any artist resident in the UK. Applicants are asked to submit online up to three images and a short written proposal that demonstrates how the bursary will benefit their current practice. A nominal fee of £3 is charged to enter. From this open submission, a number of artists are shortlisted and invited to exhibit their work at the ING Discerning Exhibition. The winning artist receives £1,500 and each runner up receives £150.

the 2014 award

The Discerning Eye is working with the Temple Church to celebrate the 800th anniversary of the signing of the Magna Carta. The Temple Church is situated in the heart of London's legal profession between two of the Inns of court (Inner Temple and Middle Temple) and houses the famous effigies of the Knights Templar who built and founded the church. To mark this anniversary, artists were invited to explore the theme of Justice and submit their own creative ideas.
The selection committee chose seven finalists who will each exhibit one work: Paul Brandford, Susan Fynes, Davina Jackson, Michael Johnson, Anne Lynch, Freya Pocklington (a runner up in 2009) and André Wallace. The winner was André Wallace, announced at the Artists' Preview evening of this year's exhibition on Thursday 13 November.


Our grateful thanks go to each member of the Discerning Eye Educational Advisory Board, particularly for their time and good judgement: Tom Coates PPNEAC, Anita Klein PPRE, James Lloyd and Nicholas Usherwood.

past winners

Copyright © 2002-2015 The Discerning Eye14-Nov-2014
web site by Shepperton Software